“Father, Into Your Hands I Commit My Spirit” “Baba, Ruhumu Ellerine Bırakıyorum” Sermon 8 of the series on the Seven Statements from the Cross Çarmıhtan Gelen Yedi Sözün 8. Vaazı

Introduction:                                   “Why Seven Statements?”

 Giriş:  “Neden Yedi Söz?”

We continue in our series on the statements of Jesus from the cross.

Today, we will look at the final statement.

As I think about the difficulty that Jesus would have had to be speaking from the cross, I am amazed that he spoke seven times.

I think, we must understand that he spoke at LEAST seven times from the cross.

Perhaps he spoke more, but we really don’t know.

Each gospel writer records these for us, and it just happens that the TOTAL number of statements is seven.

Seven is a significant number in the Bible:

There were:

Seven days of creation

Many sevens in the book of Revelation:

Seven churches;

Seven lampstands;

Seven lamps;

Seven spirits;

A scroll with seven seals;

Seven angels with seven trumpets;

Seven thunders…etc.

But I don’t think it is significant for our understanding that there were seven rather than six or rather than eight statements from the cross.

And when I wonder why didn’t each gospel presenter record all seven?

I must remember that each writer had a particular audience to which he was writing, initially.

Only one miracle, for example, is in all four gospels:

the feeding of the 5000.

So to include all of these statements would have made their presentations longer

Let’s consider the various audiences

Matthew wrote to a Hebrew audience and only recorded the “My God, My God” statement.

This was perhaps because this statement came directly from the Old Testament and pointed to the will of God being fulfilled in Jesus

Mark’s audience was Roman/Gentile audience that had Hebraic roots and heritage, thus for his presentation of the Gospel, the “My God, My God” statement summed it all up

Luke’s gospel accompanied Paul in his ministry, so it is interesting Jesus’ prayer, “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing,” and the later statement of Jesus welcoming the repentant man who was crucified with him would be included.

It may have been particularly special to Paul who persecuted the church, not realizing that he was going against God.

In John’s gospel, John explained why he had taken care of Jesus’ mother.

And his gospel presentation showed the suffering of Jesus as he thirsted and that he knew he was dying as one who had successfully fulfilled the Father’s mission as he said, “It is finished.”

Now, we come to the final statement.

Luke is the only one who quotes Jesus saying this, and he mentions that Jesus “called out with a loud voice.”

The other three gospel writers allude to this statement, as well.

Both Matthew and Mark mention a loud cry.

And when Jesus had cried out again in a loud voice, he gave up his spirit.

Matthew 27:50

50 İsa, yüksek sesle bir kez daha bağırdı ve ruhunu teslim etti.            

Matta 27:50

With a loud cry, Jesus breathed his last.

Mark 15:37-39

37 Ama İsa yüksek sesle bağırarak son nefesini verdi.

Markos 15:37

While John doesn’t quote Jesus, he does record the action of Jesus’ final statement:

…he bowed his head and gave up his spirit. John 19:30

…başını eğerek ruhunu teslim etti.       Yuhanna 19:30

So let’s, now, read from Luke 23:44-46.

[44] It was now about the sixth hour, and darkness came over the whole land until the ninth hour, [45] for the sun stopped shining. And the curtain of the temple was torn in two. [46] Jesus called out with a loud voice, “Father, into your hands I commit my spirit.” When he had said this, he breathed his last.

Luke 23:44-46

44-45 Öğleyin on iki sularında güneş karardı, üçe kadar bütün ülkenin üzerine karanlık çöktü. Tapınaktaki perde ortasından yırtıldı. 46 İsa yüksek sesle, “Baba, ruhumu ellerine bırakıyorum!” diye seslendi. Bunu söyledikten sonra son nefesini verdi.

Luka 23:44-46

PRAY

  1. Jesus Gave His Strength/İsa Gücünü Verdi

One of the most famous verses in the Bible is John 3:16

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”             John 3:16

“Çünkü Tanrı dünyayı o kadar çok sevdi ki, biricik Oğlu’nu verdi. Öyle ki, O’na iman edenlerin hiçbiri mahvolmasın, hepsi sonsuz yaşama kavuşsun. 

Yuhanna 3:16

This speaks of God, the Father, giving His Son, and it is true.

This is foundational to our faith, as the singer, Michael Card put it:

“What Abraham was asked

To do, He has done,

He offered His Only Son.”

“God Will Provide a Lamb”

Michael Card, Songwriter

İbrahimden isteneni,

O kendisi yaptı,

Biricik Oğlunu Verdi.”

Tanri bir kuzu sağlayacaktır”

Michael Card, İlahı Yazar

I have wrestled with the thought of God giving His Only Son for us.

I don’t know if I could have been faithful like Abraham to offer any of my dear children, and, praise God, we are not expected to do that!

But God

did this.

He gave His Only Son for our sins.

I can’t imagine giving my son or daughter for any one else, and yet God gave His Son for us all.

Not only did God give His Son, but The Son gave Himself for us.

There is no greater love, Jesus said, than to give one’s life for his friends (John 15:13).

Jesus not only SAID this, but He DID this, he DID this.

Every step of the way, especially during that 24 hour period, Jesus gave His strength.

As he shared the Passover meal with his disciples, he knew it was his last meal…

as he washed their feet…

as he told Judas to do what he had planned and do it quickly…

these were emotional moments when he was giving his strength.

In the Garden of Gethsemane, he gave his strength and his sweat was like drops of blood.

As he was beaten, abused, mocked, nailed and crucified, he gave physical and emotional strength.

Jesus gave his strength and kept giving. He did not give up or quit.  And in the end, as he saw the time was fulfilled, He still had some strength, and he cried out “Father, into Your Hands I commit my Spirit.”

I mentioned last week that I used to run, and when I would run the 2-miler, I always found a way to pour out more energy during the final 2-300 yards.

The last 100 yards I pushed harder….

People remarked that I gave my all for the team, but I didn’t give my all, because if I had, I would have died.

In truth, I didn’t give all for my team,

I did it for myself:

-It was fun hearing people cheer.

-It was fun pushing myself.

Yes, I wanted to help the team, but I would not have died for them.

But Jesus gave His all for us.

In this last moment before dying on the cross, Jesus had enough strength to speak with a loud voice.

He gave his strength for us and…

  1. Jesus Gave His Life, Freely/İsa Canını İsteyerek Verdi

As the Good Shepherd, Jesus laid down his life for his sheep.

Being a shepherd is not always thought of as a very noble profession, though among the Hebrews, it was considered to be special since Moses, Jacob and Jacob’s sons were all shepherds.

To many people, including myself, a shepherd is worth more than his sheep, so it is hard to understand when a shepherd risks his life for his sheep.

David risked his life killing lions and bears in order to save his sheep. David understood of God’s relationship to man, was like the relationship between a shepherd and sheep.

Jesus took this metaphor and applied it to his life, since he is the Son of God and it was appropriate.

He talked about his relationship to people as a shepherd and the risks:

[11] “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. [12] The hired hand is not the shepherd who owns the sheep. So when he sees the wolf coming, he abandons the sheep and runs away. Then the wolf attacks the flock and scatters it. [13] The man runs away because he is a hired hand and cares nothing for the sheep….

[17] The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life—only to take it up again. [18] No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.”

John 10:11-13, 17, 18

11 Ben iyi çobanım. İyi çoban koyunları uğruna canını verir. 12 Koyunların çobanı ve sahibi olmayan ücretli adam, kurdun geldiğini görünce koyunları bırakıp kaçar. Kurt da onları kapar ve dağıtır. 13 Adam kaçar. Çünkü ücretlidir ve koyunlar için kaygı duymaz….

17 Canımı, tekrar geri almak üzere veririm. Bunun için Baba beni sever. 18 Canımı kimse benden alamaz; ben onu kendiliğimden veririm. Onu vermeye de tekrar geri almaya da yetkim var. Bu buyruğu Babam’dan aldım.”

Yuhanna 10:11-13, 17,18

No one took Jesus’ life from him.

Some people seem to find comfort in blaming the Jews for Jesus’ death, but Jesus, himself, said that no one took his life from him.

Jesus gave his strength and his life freely for us.

He did this because through his sacrifice the way would be open for us to God the Father and to heaven.

We know that the Scriptures continue to teach why and how he gave his life for us:

…Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.                     

Hebrews 12:2

Gözümüzü imanımızın öncüsü ve tamamlayıcısı İsa’ya dikelim. O kendisini bekleyen sevinç uğruna utancı hiçe sayıp çarmıhta ölüme katlandı ve şimdi Tanrı’nın tahtının sağında oturuyor.        

İbraniler 12:2

Jesus knew that there was joy before him. He knew that in the end there would be resurrection, ascension and he would be sitting at the Right hand of God the Father.

And the gospels reported that the curtain hanging in the Temple was torn in two, signifying that the way to the Father was now open.

As the way was open, we realize that we, too, can pray the same prayer that Jesus prayed from the cross, committing our lives to our heavenly Father.

  1. Can We, Too, Say This With Jesus?/Bizde Bunu İsayla Diyebilir miyiz?

First, Jesus could say this because he had already done this every day.

Jesus Prayed Regularly

İsa Düzenli Bir Şekilde Dua Etti

The Gospel of Mark records this action of Jesus:

Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed.  

Mark 1:35

Sabah çok erkenden, ortalık henüz ağarmadan İsa kalktı, evden çıkıp ıssız bir yere gitti, orada dua etmeye başladı.              

Markos 1:35

And the Gospel of Luke records this repeated action of Jesus:

Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed.

Luke 5:16

Kendisi ise ıssız yerlere çekilip dua ediyordu.

Luka 5:16

Jesus regularly prayed and kept close to God the Father in prayer.

Jesus Listened To and Was Obedient To Our Heavenly Father

İsa Göksel Babamızı Dinleyip İtaat Ederdi

Jesus didn’t merely repeat a prayer to God but listened to him in his time of prayer.

Jesus gave them this answer: “Very truly I tell you, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does.

For I did not speak on my own, but the Father who sent me commanded me to say all that I have spoken.

John 5:19; 12:49

İsa Yahudi yetkililere şöyle karşılık verdi: “Size doğrusunu söyleyeyim, Oğul, Baba’nın yaptıklarını görmedikçe kendiliğinden bir şey yapamaz. Baba ne yaparsa Oğul da aynı şeyi yapar. 

Çünkü ben kendiliğimden konuşmadım. Beni gönderen Baba’nın kendisi ne söylemem ve ne konuşmam gerektiğini bana buyurdu.

Yuhanna 5:19; 12:49

We, Too, Can Pray, Listen and Obey

Bizde Dua Edebilir, Dinleyebilir ve İtaat Edebiliriz

I have not always been fruitful and successful, but for a good part of the past 41 years I have been praying, listening and doing my best to obey.

Daily, we are called to

  • deny ourselves,
  • take up our crosses and
  • follow Jesus (Luke 9:23).

When we are able to do this daily/regularly, then we will do be able to do this at our last and final moment.

I mentioned a few months ago about sitting in the dentist chair last year in the US and how I was given a shot of epinephrine. Epinephrine is adrenalin and it rushed to my heart. I thought I was having a heart attack, and after alerting the nurse, I could only do two things:

I sent an SMS to Clover saying, “I love you,”

and I said to God, “Lord, I’m ready to see you.”

Although I felt great dread, and my arms wanted to just lay by my sides as they felt like they were lead. I put myself in God’s hands.

Another time:

When I had surgery last year, also, the surgeon asked me to trust him, but really, my trust was in God’s Hands.

We need to trust Him, daily, and learn to hear His voice so that we will do what He asks of us.

God is calling us today to enter and re-enter into a close relationship.

He is asking us today:

Are we concerned about our failures more than we are concerned about God’s wrath?

Are we seekers of our own honor more than people offering to honor God above all things through our lives?

Are we awed more my our own wisdom and good sense than through the incredible wisdom of God?

Are we, like Jesus, willing to give our spirits to God,

Meaning….

Our dreams & our wishes

Our choices & our friends,

Our plans & our priorities

Our sexuality & our finances

Our hopes & our desires

If we are, then let us with Jesus say,

Father, into your hands I commit my spirit.

Baba, ruhumu ellerine bırakıyorum

When Jesus said these words, he died.

Some of us have to die.

We have to die to our selves, and let our flesh die, so that Jesus can be raised in us.

That His Holy Spirit can come alive in us.

Let’s meet with God in prayer

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

