Fifteen Habits of Great Writers Challenge-Day One: I Am a Writer

Image

I am a writer.

I feel so small as a writer because I don’t consider myself to be a great writer. 

But I am a storyteller! Just ask anyone who has visited our church a couple times, or been stuck with me on a long journey, and they will tell you that I like to tell stories!

I have wanted to write for many years, but took myself way too seriously. When I tell a story, I am relatively quick (I love to tell jokes and can effectively deliver punch-lines), but when I write, I tend to be long winded.

So, I didn’t consider myself to be a writer, but the truth is, even though I am only a self-published author (well, I did get a poorly written story printed in a book several years ago, by a small publisher), I have been writing thirty years or more. My wife and I first started writing newsletters to go with our Christmas cards. Then, when we began to live abroad, we had to write our sponsors. We had to keep our needs before our donors, regularly, or else we could lose their support. We had to “publish or perish.”

I wrote a story once in 1996 and sent it with my quarterly newsletter. I sent it as a separate story and I wonder if many people even read it.  But then one day, I that the pastor of a supporting church had invited everyone in his congregation to read my story. Suddenly, I saw myself as a writer.

In the last few years I have been blogging some. It is therapeutic and I am glad to encourage the few who read it. As well, I have posted many of my sermons for people to read.

Writing takes time, and I find that I don’t have a lot of this, but as I am declaring that I am a writer, I will also declare that I will take time to write, everyday!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

